Go Back   Forums > Self-Coaching Forums > Ask Dr. Joe

Notices

Old 02-25-2005, 04:08 AM

Default starting new job

I am starting a new job in about 2 weeks. I was laid off my old job partly because I felt like I could not do the work and I made the mistake of telling my boss about it making me an easy person to pick when the layoffs started. I have a history of starting jobs and over time realizing I "can't handle it." Either someone I work with tells me I am not cut out for it or I feel I can't handle the stress. It seems that I can't handle much stress these days. People once they get to know me always seem to avoid me like they know there is something wrong with me and I always seem to be left out of the loop like at work, etc. I am a respiratory therapist and have only been doing the job for 2 yrs. so I'm still pretty green as far as being new. My new boss knows my lack of experience but has decided to teach me on my new job. I'm so worried that the same ole thing is going to happen where I get nervous in stressfull situations and people will figure out my incompetence over time and I will be told the same ole thing that I can't handle stress and I'm not cut out for the job. Other people tell me I have a self confidence problem and that I'm smart it's just that I don't give myself enough credit for it. I'm so afraid that I'm going to ruin this new job with my same ole negative attitude that the same scenario will be repeated over again. I don't want to do that. It is a good paying job and I want to keep my position if I can. HELP ME!!!
Old 02-25-2005, 01:55 PM